News and Views from the Oshika Gang

Just another WordPress.com site

Can’t Help Falling In Love With You February 4, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — oshikagang @ 6:17 pm

I know a lot of new mommies say that they were SOOOOO in love with their babies the moment they were born. I know we’re SUPPOSED to say that. But I don’t think it’s true. I know it wasn’t for me! I was so busy reeling from labour and bleeding out that while I was glad she was here, I didn’t have the focus to really care, frankly. I knew she’d be taken care of, and I knew I’d get to know her better later on.

It takes some time to get to know them and like them. My girlfriend Tracy came by to meet Aili a few weeks after she was born and said “Isn’t she everything you always wanted and needed but didn’t know it?”. And honestly, at that time, the answer was NO. The first six weeks suck, and you secretly ask yourself if you’ve made an enormous mistake that you can’t undo, and if you’re a terrible person and unfit parent for thinking so.

But man oh man oh man do they ever grow on you! And by the time you’re at 12 weeks, like we are, they ARE the everything you never knew you wanted or needed. And nothing else matters. It takes some time, but they captivate you completely.

You never knew your heart could be so full.

 

One Response to “Can’t Help Falling In Love With You”

  1. Diana Says:

    This picture is priceless!


Leave a Reply

