News and Views from the Oshika Gang

Just another WordPress.com site

Sleep Training II February 11, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — oshikagang @ 4:40 pm

We’ve just finished night #2 of the sleep training.

I am still in stunned disbelief. It was quiet. It was dark. There was some hand-sucking involved (I only know that because I could hear it) but apart from that, it was a stunningly uneventful night. There was one episode of crying for about 15 minutes at 5.15, but apart from that, if she was awake, she wasn’t bothering anyone. She went to bed at 6.30, and we got up at 7 this morning. I woke her to feed her at 11, and she woke me for a snack at 2.45. Only one wake-up call??! Unheard of!!

In fact, it was a little lonely. I’m used to having the whole family with me in the bed (Johnny, me, kid, and cat, plus Leo in his bed beside my nighttable). Last night the kid was in her bed, and Johnny went to the guest room in case it was a bad night, and who knows where the cat was. So it was just me and Leo. In fact, what with all the silence, I had a bit of trouble getting to sleep!

And at 8.30 this morning I put her down for her first nap, and checked on her seven minutes later, and she was completely asleep. I just put her down wide awake and left the room, and she went to sleep. Without a single murmur. UNBELIEVABLE.

We’re not out of the woods yet, as apparently nights 1 and 4 are the worst, and it’s also hard to establish napping. But still – – I feel fantastic.

Daddy’s looking a tad worn out.


SOMEBODY stole the dog’s bed.


Heads up!


Check out the drool…


Tired and ready for a nap.

 

One Response to “Sleep Training II”

  1. Carrie Says:

    Huge Congrats on the sleep success! Makes me wish I’d know of such things as sleep consultants when Victoria was a baby. But since she did nap (albeit on me) I let her wacky habits go on too long. Baby number 2 will be handled MUCh differently 🙂


Leave a Reply

