News and Views from the Oshika Gang

Just another WordPress.com site

Playtime! April 24, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — oshikagang @ 8:04 pm

Aili and I have both come down with a cold. While that makes me miserable and grouchy, she seems to be in a fine mood. She’s just squealing with glee while covered with a fine sheen of snot. It’s completely disgusting.

Aili comes alive when you play with her. She can amuse herself ok on her playmat or in her crib, but she smiles and shrieks and rolls and giggles when we play together. Until recently I would amuse her, but for the first time the other day it seemed to be reciprocated. It sounds gross, but she was lying on my chest with her face above mine, and sucking on my nose. It felt really weird, and tickled, and I was laughing hysterically. And every now and again she’d stop and look at me with this big grin on her face, and then go back to it. I think she knew she was making me laugh, and liked it.
The game was over, however, when she tried to put her tongue in my nostril. EW.

I haven’t taken too many pictures lately (I know, you must be thinking that pigs are flying around outside) so I thought I’d introduce you to some of the characters we play with during the day. And to demonstrate to you what a bad namer I am. I really need to fire up my creativity.

Well, first of all, there are real friends. Like for example our new buddy Natalie, who will be one tomorrow!


Then there are fun toys in our life, like the jumperoo:


And also entertaining household objects. What could be more fun than a sheet of tissue paper?


I know! Fingers!


This is Mr. Pupsqueak. He barks if you push on his nose. Aili hasn’t figured that out yet, but she does try to nurse on his nose sometimes.
He came with the name Pupsqueak, I added the ‘Mr.’


This is Peyton the Elephant. He lives on the change table.


Checkers the Worm.


Zed the Zebra.


Zed says, ‘Hey! Who turned out the lights?’


Giant ball o’ nipples:


There are others, but I won’t bore you. But here’s one last one: the latest addition. This character seems to be having some sort of identity crisis: it doesn’t know if it’s a worm, a snail, or a stegosaurus.
As a result, I am at a loss to give it a name. Any ideas?

 

Leave a Reply

