News and Views from the Oshika Gang

Just another WordPress.com site

The Joy of Giving June 22, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — oshikagang @ 4:22 am

I’m feeling a bit grumpy about being generous.
You see, I have a bunch of baby stuff that I’d like to get rid of. Most of it is stuff that was given to us by people we know (who don’t read this blog) who are done having kids and were excited to offload their things onto us. This was right when we got pregnant, so we didn’t know any better. Since that time, however, we’ve ended up duplicating a number of the items, so we’d like to see them move on to someone else’s home. They’re clean and in good working condition, and I hate to see them hit a landfill.
So I called a women’s shelter to see if they’d like to have some baby stuff. They never responded.
Then I found a lady on craigslist looking for donations. She worked at a not-for-profit organizations for teen mothers and would love to have the stuff, she said. I offered to drop it off at her home office or at the not-for-profit office… and never heard from her again.
And then there was someone else, also on craigslist, whose sister had been in some sort of abusive relationship, found herself pregnant and jobless and desperate. ‘Ok,’ I say, ‘Come on over.’ She bailed at the last minute.
And yet another sorry case of unexpected pregnancy, desperate and needing a few things. I give her my address and phone number, we make plans to meet… and she never shows. TWICE.
What am I to make of all this? I’m just trying to do a good thing here, and am feeling less charitable by the minute.
So if you need someone who wants some baby stuff – – or you want some yourself – – let me know! All I want is someone who wants it, needs it, will show up (preferably on time), and say thank you. Is that so much to ask?

In better news, Johnny is feeling better. Yesterday was quite the sight; he quite literally slept the day away and didn’t eat at all. I know what you’re thinking, because I thought it too: ‘Johnny not eat? Something must really be wrong.’ I have never, in all the time I’ve known him, seen him in such a state. I think it was also the first sick day he’s taken – or possibly the second. It’s good to see him back on his feet.
Lucky for him that he’s feeling better, too, because Ayako and Shu came by tonight with a birthday meal to knock your socks off! Mine was a couple weeks back and Johnny’s is on Tuesday, so we wrapped it all into one. Thanks to the in-laws for a great night!

Very beaky with lovely lashes:


Look who’s standing!


Pruneface.


At the dog park. Look who’s an acrobat!


Check out them choppers:


Happy muffin!

 

2 Responses to “The Joy of Giving”

  1. Chris St Germaine Says:

    Angie,I was having the same problem with giving things away. I found Tricities Freecycle http://ca.groups.yahoo.com/group/tricities_freecycle/Chris St Germaine

  2. Mike Says:

    Sometimes charitable groups aren’t all they’re cracked up to be…


Leave a Reply

