News and Views from the Oshika Gang

Just another WordPress.com site

The Bucket List June 27, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — oshikagang @ 5:20 pm

Johnny and I watched ‘The Bucket List’ last night. It’s a good movie, and it will make you cry (except for Johnny whose heart appears to be harder than the driveway) – but I cannot imagine any person watching it without reflecting on their own ‘bucket list’. In case you haven’t seen the film, your ‘bucket list’ is the things you want to do before you kick the bucket. They didn’t spell out the rules, but I would think that it should be things that aren’t crazy out-of-touch-with-reality ideas, but rather things that are realistically achievable within your lifetime, and that you’d regret not having done when you find yourself on your deathbed.

So of course, I got to thinking about my own bucket list. And I’m quite sad and concerned that I don’t really have much to put on there. Most of the goals that I had for my life have been achieved: I have a university degree; I’ve travelled extensively; I found and married an exceptional man; I’ve conceived and given birth to a gorgeous child; I have faced death and loved deeply and lost; I am a dedicated friend; I have and continue to give back to my community; I have even been skydiving. I feel like I’ve satisfied my curiosity about the world and many cultures, and am now satisfying my desire for family and roots.
I suppose some people would say that it’s great that I’ve completed my bucket list by the ripe old age of 32, but I’m actually quite concerned. Perhaps my friend is right; perhaps I need more in my life. I need more goals and ambition; otherwise, why keep on living? I think some serious reflection is required.

What’s on your bucket list?

Oh, yeah, and in other news: the kid sprouted another tooth this morning. Top right fang. The top left looks like it’ll be tomorrow. The centre two top ones look like they’re at least a couple weeks behind.

 

2 Responses to “The Bucket List”

  1. Sus Says:

    Hi Angie,Jay and I watched that movie too, and my goodness I a wreck for a good twenty minutes after it ended. I’ve been thinking about my bucket list, not too sure of the things I want to put on it. Maybe right now you don’t have anything you’d like to put on yours, but that’ll change. When Aili gets a little older, and more independent you’ll have more time on your hands, and maybe a new perspective on things šŸ™‚ I wish I were at the point where I felt I’d accomplished everything I wanted to.

  2. Mike Says:

    I know how you feel…there are many days where I take a mental inventory of all that has been achieved and say, “okay, so now what?”.It’s frustrating, but it’s also a sign that you’re living your life to the fullest.


Leave a Reply

