News and Views from the Oshika Gang

Just another WordPress.com site

Recently. July 6, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — oshikagang @ 10:38 pm

I completely suck. I neglect my blog and leave you wondering if I’ve taken the kid and skipped town. Don’t worry, we’re here, and we’re ok!

You see, after a while, you find your rhythm. The daily routine goes round and round, and the ups and downs of new challenges slow down. There are fewer ‘firsts’, and somehow less to say about them. Besides, how many pictures do you really want to see of the kid in the jumperoo, in the bath, or eating?

Please don’t take my silence to mean that things aren’t just moving along swimmingly around here. Aili is growing and eating and laughing and babbling, and is predictable and delightful and blessedly easy. I feel well-rested and peppy and happy with where my life is right now, and wouldn’t change a single thing about it. There have been very few times in my life when I didn’t want something else: a different job or a more interesting one; a different home; a different country. But for now, I feel at peace. Johnny is in a good place too, enjoying his work and his family. Times will change, I’m sure, but for now, we’re all exactly where we want to be, and life is good. We want for nothing – in a material sense, but more importantly, in our overall fulfillment; emotional, psychological, and spiritual. For now, our job is to recognize it, and be grateful.
___________________________

There’s a nudy on my floor! There has been lots and lots of naked time recently due to yet another nasty diaper rash. After a wee bit of internet research (me? internet research? never.) I came to the conclusion that it was yeast, and believe it or not, a dab of Canesten cleared it up in a day. Sometimes you CAN believe what you read on the internet!


Oh, how she wants to catch the butterflies…….


My two favourite people hangin’ out on Canada Day.


Smiles for Daddy!


Obaachan came by to share a snack…


… and some Japanese iced tea! (mugi-cha):
Aili would love to drink out of a glass, and tries mightily, but most of it ends up down the front of her shirt. And she has brutal backwash; don’t say I didn’t warn you.


Our sweet sleeper. On her side, with her thumb in her mouth.


I think she looks like me in this one:


On Thursday we got to see Mr. Evan, who is almost ONE! He’s grown up so fast.


Aili was quite delighted to see him, and shrieked with glee. Shrieking and grunting is pretty well what she does these days. As you would probably hope, we no longer go to restaurants.


The most important and interesting thing that has happened in the last week was Johnny’s best friend’s wedding. Johnny is my best man everyday, but yesterday he was also somebody else’s.
Congratulations Allen and Annie!



Two Angie’s at the wedding.


Best looking best man in town with his adoring wife.

 

One Response to “Recently.”

  1. muso Says:

    Good looking!


Leave a Reply

