News and Views from the Oshika Gang

Just another WordPress.com site

One and a Half June 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — oshikagang @ 6:50 am

I can’t believe that Aili is already one and a half! Where does the time go? Johnny and I marvel at how fast she’s grown, and all the changes we see. Day by day she’s losing the baby fat and the baby mentality, and becoming a ‘kid’. Even her wrists and ankles are thinning out! I think we might have recently had a bit of a growth spurt, because all of a sudden her old pants are too short. I was stunned the other day when I tried on a size 2T dress, and it fit perfectly! When did my little tiny Asian flower become a 2T???

We’re seeing more shows of independence and the occasional temper tantrum. They are definitely exacerbated when she’s tired, or especially when she’s hungry. So far we haven’t experienced the complete meltdown in the mall or the grocery store… yet. I know it’s just a matter of time, and am NOT looking forward to the experience. Hopefully she’ll wait until when I’m not pregnant, because I’m not sure I could haul her out under my arm screaming and kicking in my current state!

Her language is coming along well too. Her pronunciation isn’t great (what 18-month-old’s is?), and I suspect anyone other than Johnny and I would need a translator for much of what she has to say. But we understand her clearly, and are amazed at how quickly she adds new words to her vocabulary. She also is becoming increasingly vocal, with more and more babble, and lots of shrieks, squeals, and at really high-energy moments, screaming with delight.

Aili is shorter than her friends, and still a lightweight in the size department. At her 18-month weigh in she came in at 22lbs 5oz, which is 21st percentile for weight. (The last few months she’s been around 22nd percentile, so she’s holding steady.) We also had her 18-month shots, which she weathered without a whimper. The nurse said that the two shots sting quite a lot, and that she wished all 18-month-olds were so good! That’s my girl….

We recently bought a double stroller (Hello, Joovy Caboose Ultralight!). It’s a sit-n-stand, which means that there is a traditional seat in the front, and a small jumpseat and platform in the back. The toddler can sit or stand in the back – or walk, if they choose – and the baby can sit in the front. It also has an attachment to hold an infant car seat.
Aili LOOOOOVES the new stroller. There are so many options for her!


I love the weekends because we get to spend time together as a family. It’s especially nice because I am now struggling to walk for any distance or participate in playing at the playground. We get to have our family outings – in this case to Port Moody’s lovely Rocky Point Park – but Daddy parks me at a bench and monitors playground antics …


…. and coddles her through the terrors of the spray park. Yes, she’s afraid of the spray park.
*Insert eyeroll here.*


When Daddy’s at work Aili and I hang out together all day. Here we are sharing a bowl of cereal together, at the counter.


While our house is small and old, and our neighbourhood isn’t the greatest, we happen to have gotten lucky and live on an absolutely fantastic dead-end street. There are lots of kids, and lots of stay-at-home parents.
Here we are with some of the local gang: Annabelle (3.5) and Zoey (16 mos) are the blondies from next door, and Terry (4) and Mona (6) live across the street.


This evening we looked out the window and the cat was acting, well, weird. Peculiar place to stop for a lie-down, no?


We’re now a week away from my official due date. I’m enormous (as you can see from the picture above) and really quite uncomfortable. I have difficulty walking for any distance, or even standing for more than a minute or two. Baby appears to be active and healthy, and despite my gigantic size, it looks like he’s aiming for about 8 pounds, according to my midwife. Apparently I have a lot of fluid, which makes me more uncomfortable, but is good for the baby.
My sister is coming to visit on Friday, so hang out with Aili and – assuming baby stays put – be a labour support person. I really hope this kid stays where he is until she arrives! This week is going to be a race to see who gets here first.
I’ll do what I can to keep you posted, as soon as we have any news. Wish us luck!

 

One Response to “One and a Half”

  1. muso Says:

    She is growing, growing, and so FAAAST!


Leave a Reply

