News and Views from the Oshika Gang

Just another WordPress.com site

Daycare October 16, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — oshikagang @ 6:25 am

We’ve started sending Aili to daycare one day a week. Partly to give me a break, partly so that I can spend one-on-one time with Tomi, and partly for Aili’s socialization. Not only is it good for her to spend time with other kids, it’s also important for her to respect the authority of other grown-ups and learn to be flexible with the different ways that other families do things.


And somehow we found ‘Mama Jen’, who lives close by, is fantastic with kids, has a beautiful 2-year-old girl of her own, and used to work professionally as a nanny. And most importantly, Aili loves her!


Matching hairdos!


Running wild!


So how does Aili like daycare, you ask?
The other day when I told her it was ‘Shaylee Day’ she actually started saying “Bye bye Mama” on the way to their house. And then she pushed me out, blew me a kiss, and closed the door on my face.

And how do I feel about this?
Tuesday is now my favourite day of the week. I’m glad to get her back at the end of the day, of course, but it’s so much easier to get stuff done without a toddler in tow!

 

Leave a Reply

